This is an archive site from 2008
Please click here to visit the latest site

Super Nova Racing

Team Details

Team NameSuper Nova Racing
Team Owners / ManagersDavid Sears
Technical DirectorAndy Roche


Super Nova is one of the most successful teams in international motor sport. Founded in 1991 by Nozumo Saruhashi and David Sears, the team has contested the principle Formula One feeder series ever since, first in Formula 3000 and laterly in GP2 - both in Europe and Asia. Before the demise of Formula 3000 at the end of 2004, Super Nova won the Championship a record four times, and set just about every other record in the series along the way, with more poles, more podiums and more wins than any other team in the Championship's 20-year history.

Formula 3000, and now GP2, was always seen as the penultimate step on the motor sport ladder, and in this respect, again, Super Nova excelled, with 16 of its drivers making the final step to the very top of the sport, again more than any other team. Many Super Nova drivers have gone on to race not only in Formula One, but also at the highest level in America (sometimes both), and Super Nova Racing still maintains excellent relations with many of the top Formula One, IRL and Champ Car teams.

16 Drivers from Super Nova Racing have subsequently graduated to Formula 1, Champ Car or IRL.